Hi, everyone!

The whole of the fiber club has been shipped, with international orders going out Monday and US orders yesterday. Those who live close to me could have their fiber today, with orders outside the US arriving as late as the beginning of next week. US orders shipped USPS Priority and the non-US went Global Priority.

Every month, I will spin a sample of the fiber to show how it can look when spun up in at least one way. I hope some of you will post photos of the fiber spun up in different ways. This will be especially helpful to newer spinners, who will benefit from seeing how the colors can change/be manipulated with spinning method. I also hope you will show us photos of your finished yarn and projects, and suggest patterns that worked well for you.

I don’t want to risk spoiling the surprise by showing the fiber/yarn until I’m fairly certain everyone’s received their fiber, so today I’ve provided the photo in a clickable popup.

*see May’s fiber*

I spun my sample as a worsted weight 2 ply. My goodness, but this fiber is shimmery! The sample is light so light and airy and soft and squishy. I split the combed top lengthwise into finger-wide sections and spun from the end worsted style, smoothing as I went along. I spun it with a soft twist, however, so the yarn is very light and airy.

If you’re so inclined, this fiber would make great socks. You’ll have more than enough fiber to make a pair of socks using worsted weight and handspun sock pattern.

In the sidebar, you can see instructions for signing up to post on the blog and Flickr group, and a button for subscribing to the RSS feed of this blog. For now, please sign your posts so we know who you are. I’m going to try to figure out how to have the post authors automatically show up.

I so look forward to hearing from you about your fiber! I hope you enjoy it.

– Adrian from Hello Yarn

